Mananjary

Learn more about Mananjary

Tourists visiting eastern Madagascar will pass through Mananjary, a quiet and authentic city in the south-east of the country. Mananjary invites you to discover its plantations of spices and vanilla, without forgetting the excursions on the channel of Pangalanes.

Peaceful city on the Indian Ocean

Quiet and relaxing city at the edge of the Indian Ocean, on the east coast of Madagascar, Mananjary is located 160 km north of the city of Manakara and 450 km from Antananarivo, the Malagasy capital. Mananjary is at the heart of a region dominated by coffee, vanilla and spices. It also houses a port through which cargoes of cocoa, rice, olives, etc. are transported. The city of Mananjary has about 35,000 inhabitants, mainly belonging to the Antambahoaka ethnic group. The climate of the Mananjary region is hot and humid. Enjoy your stay in Mananjary to discover the local population, its customs and culture, but also for pleasant visits and excursions in the city and its surroundings.

Customs and spices

One of the specificities of the city of Mananjary is the traditional circumcision ceremony of the Antambahoaka. This small ethnic group organizes every 7th year a big party to mark the "Sambatra", preparing the initiation of little boys to adolescence and adulthood. The traditional rituals of the Sambatra attract each time many tourists and curious. During a stay in the city of Mananjary, visit the plantations of the city and its surroundings is essential. For example, you can see the plantations and the packaging of spices of all kinds at the Plantation of the Vahiny Hotel. Do not miss the opportunity to go to the market, with its many local products. In the city center, we can see some colonial houses. Do not hesitate to go on an excursion on the Pangalanes canal. The beautiful beaches of Mananjary are dangerous and you can swim at the beach of Sidi Eden.

Go on an adventure

From the capital, Antananarivo, several bush-taxis depart daily towards Fianarantsoa. This former provincial capital is located on National Highway 7. A bush taxi line also connects Fianarantsoa to Mananjary. The journey takes about 6 hours and costs Ar 15,000, a little more than 5 €. The easiest way is to rent a car in Antananarivo and follow the RN 7 to Fianarantsoa. If you decide to rent a car, it is better to opt for an all-terrain vehicle. Indeed, if you the road between Ranomafana and Irondro is good, the remaining 50 km, between Irondro and Mananjary are in very bad condition. This is also one of the reasons why it is better to go to Mananjary in the dry season, from May to November. In the rainy season, even the 4 × 4 may get bogged down on the tricky roads of the region.

A la recherche d'un prestataire à Mananjary ?

fbpx

Mananjary

Les touristes visitant l’est de Madagascar passeront par Mananjary, ville calme et authentique du sud-est du pays. Mananjary vous invite à découvrir ses plantations d’épices et de vanille, sans oublier les excursions sur le canal des Pangalanes.

Ville paisible sur l’océan Indien

Ville tranquille et reposante au bord de l’océan Indien, sur la côte est de Madagascar, Mananjary est située à 160 km au nord de la ville de Manakara et à 450 km d’Antananarivo, la capitale malgache. Mananjary se trouve au cœur d’une région où prédominent la culture du café, de la vanille et des épices. Elle abrite également un port par lequel transitent des cargaisons de cacao, de riz, d’olives, etc. La ville de Mananjary compte environ 35.000 habitants, appartenant principalement à l’ethnie Antambahoaka. Le climat de la région de Mananjary est chaud et humide. Profitez de votre séjour à Mananjary pour découvrir la population locale, ses coutumes et sa culture, mais aussi pour des visites et des excursions agréable dans la ville et ses environs.

Les coutumes et les épices

L’une des spécificités de la ville de Mananjary est la cérémonie de circoncision traditionnelle des Antambahoaka. Cette petite ethnie organise tous les 7 ans une grande fête collective pour marquer le « Sambatra », préparant l’initiation des petits garçons vers l’adolescence et l’âge adulte. Les rituels traditionnels du Sambatra attirent chaque fois occasion de nombreux touristes et curieux. Lors d’un séjour dans la ville de Mananjary, la visite des plantations de la ville et de ses environs s’impose. Vous pourrez par exemple voir les plantations et le conditionnement des épices de toutes sortes à la Plantation de l’hôtel Vahiny. Ne manquez pas non plus l’occasion d’aller au marché, avec ses nombreux produits locaux. Dans le centre-ville, on peut voir quelques maisons coloniales. N’hésitez pas non plus à partir en excursion sur le canal des Pangalanes. Les belles plages de Mananjary sont dangereuses et on peut se baigner qu’à la plage de Sidi Eden.

Partez à l’aventure

A partir de la capitale, Antananarivo, plusieurs taxi-brousses partent quotidiennement en direction de Fianarantsoa. Cette ancienne capitale provinciale se trouve sur la route nationale 7. Une ligne de taxi-brousse relie également Fianarantsoa à Mananjary. Le trajet dure environ 6 heures et coûte Ar 15.000, soit un peu plus de 5 €. Le plus facile est de louer une voiture à Antananarivo et de suivre la RN 7 jusqu’à Fianarantsoa. Si vous décidez de louer une voiture, mieux vaut opter pour un véhicule tout-terrain. En effet, si vous la route entre Ranomafana et Irondro est bonne, les 50 km restants, entre Irondro et Mananjary sont en mauvais très état. C’est également l’une des raisons pour lesquelles il vaut mieux aller à Mananjary en saison sèche, soit de mai à novembre. En saison pluvieuse, même les 4×4 risquent de s’embourber dans les routes piégeuses de la région.

Fermer le menu
quis, commodo elit. quis Nullam justo ut
fr_FR
en_US it_IT pl_PL fr_FR