fbpx

Antananarivo

Antananarivo, the city of the miles

Antananarivo, or Tana as they say here, is the capital of Madagascar. Why visit Tana? A question that must be asked apparently because some advise to shorten their stay in the capital to better benefit the provinces. Which, to some extent, is not totally wrong. Yet the Malagasy capital is an integral part of the island and the pride of the locals.

Tana, the city wrongly shunned

From your first steps in the city, you first notice the surrounding hills, eclectic buildings ranging from brick houses to concrete buildings, rice fields and oxen in harmony in the city, the old cars 4L and 2 CV, etc. Then, inevitably, the capital will give you a first slap on the socio-economic reality of the Malagasy people. 

If in other destinations capitals are popular, we apprehend Antananarivo. In France, for example, we are in Paris, the city of "love or lights" and we take a picture in front of the Eiffel Tower, otherwise it's as if you have not been in France. Same for the United States, if you travel on the East side, you will not miss the opportunity to visit New York is not it? Yes, it's not the capital, but it's the first image that comes to your mind when you hear "the States". Time Square and Lady Freedom, symbols of this city where everything is possible!

But Tana, she remains shunned. First, because it is said that it is polluted and that there is insecurity. But frankly, no more than Paris and New York if we believe WHO. And pickpockets, there are everywhere in the big cities, even on the Champs Elysée or Time Square. It's just that these "fleeting borrowers" are "better dressed" over there and it's less obvious. And today's appearance is everything. Before you indignant, we do not pretend to say that Analakely is worth the Avenue Champs Elysee or that the Queen's Palace is a monument as imposing as the Louvre or the Empire State Building. It is just said that it is no less important because it symbolizes the identity of Madagascar. You would reply that "But we go to Madagascar for nature, to leave the tumult of the cities! ". And you will still be right. Except that the Malagasy capital, you will surely have to spend there. And we'd just like to prove to you that she really deserves more attention if you want to get out of the luxury of her hotel room.

Tana, literally unavoidable!

anosy lake antananarivo
http://www.tongasoa-madagascar.com/antananarivo-curiosotes/

Must do is not just a banal word game to sell you Tana. Beyond its tourist attraction, the "Renivohitra" (capital), meaning the mother hill deserves its name. Yes, because everything goes through Tana! It is the center of the administrative, economic and social affairs of the island. During your stay, you will avoid it with difficulty, logistically speaking. Given the lack of adequate infrastructure, the Malagasy air and land network generally passes through the capital. Indeed, if recently the Malagasy sky opened thanks to the direct line connecting Addis-Abeba to Nosy-Be, Tana remains the point of call, arrival and departure of the vast majority of domestic and international flights . In addition, all the road networks connecting the 4 corners of the island cross necessarily the city: in the East by the RN2, in the West and in the North by the RN4 and in the South by the RN7. Even if you go through travel professionals, a night at the capital on arrival and / or departure from the island will be necessary because of long distances and often difficult traffic conditions to secure the timing of the program.

Then, Tana is great anyway. With an urban air of more than 2.5 million inhabitants, it is in the region of Analamanga and is the largest city of the island. Depending on your program, you will end up in one of the following 3 rentals:

Antananarivo, the city of discovery miles

antananarivo city
https://onechai.fr/photos/madagascar-1/

You have certainly already read somewhere that Antananarivo translates as "the city of miles", strongly related to its history. Moreover, unlike most African capitals, Tana was already a major city even before colonization. Also, the remains of this royal and colonial period make it the richest city in the history of Madagascar. As a non-exhaustive example, you can visit the Queen's Palace or Rova of Manjakamiadana, littered on the highest hill in the city, visible for miles and the absolute symbol of Malagasy royalty. The white letters spelling Antananarivo that hang just below the palace will evoke a pale Hollywood copy, but they are more reminiscent of the importance of this hill to the capital. All around, the upper town and the district of Antaninarenina retrace the colonial Malagasy history with its tombs, churches and official buildings. You can visit the city either by car or on foot with specialized guides of the Regional Tourist Office of Analamanga (ORTANA). You can also leave the animation of the city center and turn on the RN3 for an excursion on the hill of Ambohimanga, vestige of the Malagasy history and classified world inheritance of UNESCO

Activities & discovery in Antananarivo

Some activities

The city center

https://insta-stalker.com/post/BugIXOFFyjB/

It is the busiest place in Antananarivo. All or almost all the infrastructures of the capital are centered there: bank, hospitals, administration ... It is represented among others by the avenue of independence of Analakely, the very heart of the capital. Beside, you have Behoririka, the commercial district considered as the Malagasy Chinatown considering the number of Chinese immigrants who settled there. The old neighborhoods of Faravohitra and Andohalo overlook the city, known for their historical and cultural interest. There is also the district of Anosy and its artificial lake lined with Jacaranda where was erected a monument in memory of the fighters of the First World War. The districts of Ambohijatovo, Ambondrona, Antaninarenina and Isoraka are famous for its innumerable restaurants and pubs. The city center is ideal because everything is accessible. Staying there will make it easier for you to travel for the next stages of your stay: excursion on the outskirts or going out to the provinces.

Ivato, the airport district

ivato
https://www.madaplus.info/Les-passagers-qui-decollent-a-Ivato-et-Nosy-be-seront-taxes-a-raison-de-38-euros_a11434.html

This is the obligatory passage for all foreigners or locals who come to Antananarivo by air. Domestic flights can not connect one region to another without a stop at the capital. A transit of two hours between two flights is always possible according to the programming of the national airline. However, the latter is often subject to changes in last minute schedules. Thus, you would be wise to prefer a night in Ivato between your landing at the capital and your next correspondence to avoid any unfortunate inconvenience. Considered a residential area, Ivato is almost a city in the city and displays a high-end status. It is the ideal place for those who love peace and quiet. Depending on your schedule and direction, the journey from Ivato to the city center can easily take you 1 to 2 hours because of the traffic, even if it is only 15 km from the center. Moreover, located at the edge of the RN4, Ivato is its surroundings are the ideal relay if you go west and north by road.

The peripheries

Although not part of the outskirts of Tana or the city center proper, the residential area of Ankorondrano is now considered the new business district. With the recent opening of the road linking it to the airport, Ankorondrano and become the ideal alternative to keep the best of both worlds: the accessibility of the city center, the calm of the peripheries and the practicability to leave Tana. A bit more outside the city, you have the Ambatofotsy district among others if your itinerary continues on the RN7 or the Ambohimanga district on the RN3 for its historical attraction and its exit towards Anjozorobe. Finally, all the surroundings of the RN1 can be practical if you go towards Ampefy.
Basically, Tana, you will have it in your skin, whether you like it or not. Since you must spend there, enjoy the max, because this city is probably the largest roundabout discovery of the island with historical, local, cultural, nature, gastronomy, sports, etc.

Visit

anosy lake antananarivo
http://www.tongasoa-madagascar.com/antananarivo-curiosotes/

A walk along Lake Anosy is a nice relaxing time, especially when the jacarandas are in bloom. The site also houses a monument, erected at the center of the lake, dedicated to the fighters of the First World War. The visit of the Zoological and Botanical Park Tsimbazaza also remains a must. Moment of discovery and relaxation guaranteed! An immense variety of Malagasy flora is represented: tree ferns, aloe, bamboo, pachypodiums, orchids, ... The Malagasy fauna is also a fascinating attraction. Indeed, the zoo is home to lemurs, reptiles, birds including Ankoay, fossas, warthogs, etc. A final section is devoted to archeology, paleontology and ethnology. Although a little dilapidated, it remains a tolerable alternative for those who are passing through and who do not have much time or means to discover the rest of the island. 

The urbanization and modernization of the capital have developed considerably in recent years, but some neighborhoods have always retained their old-world charm with their traditional buildings and shady streets. Exploring historical remains scattered throughout the city is a must-see. Athletes will also enjoy a hike through the streets and thousands of stairs to reach these sites.

palace of the queen antananarivo
https://destinia.fr/v/ll42846-50132-vols-de-yaound--antananarivo

The climb to the Queen's Palace or the Rova is a particularly pleasant excursion. The route includes the discovery of the cathedral of Andohalo, the house of Jean Laborde and the palace of Andafiavaratra. The Rova overlooks the city and is even a symbol. The breathtaking view of Antananarivo and its surroundings is spectacular. The site is home to several constructions with evocative names dating back to the days of royalty: Manjakamiadana or "where it is pleasant to reign", Mahitsielafanjaka or "the one who is full and long reign", Tranovola or "house of money" and Manampisoa or "extra beauty". Nearby, mausoleums and royal tombs bring a very authentic touch to the site.

Nature

lemurian tana

The Lemur's Park, located on the RN1 is only an hour's drive from the city center. A private site that has been created for the protection and the extension of Madagascar's lemurs. It also allows you to discover the endemic plants of the island, a true oasis for those seeking fresh air. 

crocodile madagascar

A possibility is also to visit Croc Farm, a crocodile and reptile farm located 3 km from the airport. Nestled in Alarobia, the Tsarasaotra Park is the only private RAMSAR site in the world. It brings together around its lake some endangered birds of the island: herons, ducks, crabeater ... an interesting stop for bird lovers or birdwatchers.

Sport

antananarivo activity
https://paddleblogs.com/madamax/

Sporting activities are not lacking in Tana that you could combine with the discoveries of the city. Among other things, walking through the city center through the maze of alleys and Tana stairs, trekking and hiking organized by operators specializing in forests and villages around the city. 

These operators can also arrange bike tours, kayaking or canoeing on the highlands rivers. Equestrian rides, trips on quad or motorbike, tree climbing are all possibilities. 

In the city, dance halls, fitness centers and other SPA are not lacking either. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy Malaza Golf Club in Ampitatafika, the large Rova Golf Estate towards the exit of the city on the RN4 or the Galaxy Golf in the center.

tana restaurant
https://generationvoyage.fr/madagascar-gastronomie-menus-fetes/

The cosmopolitan influence of the Malagasy population is undeniably reflected in your dishes during your stay. The capital is full of all kinds of restaurants: from the most luxurious street restaurants, from the traditional zebu and rice dishes to the world's cuisines: French, Italian, Chinese, Oriental, Caribbean, etc.

A veritable country of fruit and cash crops, local beverages are strongly influenced by them: natural juice, tea and herbal teas, local rums with coffee, vanilla, litchis, etc. flavors. 

The chocolate fair held annually in the capital is an opportunity to discover the flavors of internationally renowned Malagasy cocoa. Shops like Pili Pili Dock will make you intoxicating quality spices from Madagascar: all the variations of pepper, wild and endemic, black, pink and white with different aromas of citrus, wood, pink berries, etc. He also sells various essential oils and honey based on baobab, eucalyptus, etc. ideal for your well-being or to offer as a souvenir gift.

The hotels Antananarivo

Some hotels

LOT VW115 Ambohimitsimbina - Madagascar

Starting at 99 €

Pk 11,5 IvatoAmbodihady AmbohimanarinaBP road 8271 - Madagascar

13 Andriandahifotsy Street, Faravohitra - Madagascar

Starting at 115 €

Stories & culture

Built on one of the 12 historic hills of Imerina, at an altitude of about 1245 m, Antananarivo dominates the plain of Betsimitatatra, a landscape of paddy fields irrigated by Laniera and Ikopa. The city continues to beautify over the years and presents more and more places of relaxation with landscapes encouraging calm and serenity, even in a very active urban environment.

At the end of the eighteenth century, King Andrianampoinimerina organized the territorial administration of the kingdom. Antananarivo, the capital of the island, played a major role because it was the place of succession to the power of different Malagasy kings. It was also the place of residence of foreigners during the colonial period, and is currently the political and economic capital of Madagascar.

Apart from Antananarivo, six other hills among the twelve sacred also welcomed the royal ancestors. A detour on the side of these sites will not be too much and will further enrich a stay in the region. Like any royal construction in the capital, the name of each site is eloquent: Ilafy or "relatives by marriage", Ambatofotsy or "white stone", Ambatomanga or "blue rock", Ambohidratrimo or "Ratrimo hill" Antsahadinta or "The valley of leeches" and Ambohimanga or "the blue hill". The latter holds a preponderant place in the history of Madagascar because the great king Andrianampoinimerina lived there. It is one of the best preserved sites on the island.

Events

Tana is also a cultural center. The museum of photography will allow you to discover the photographic heritage of yesteryear and the current look that the national and foreign photographers take towards the big island. In addition, various festivals organized at different times of the year will not fail to make you discover the capital in another light. 

Madajazzcar showcases national and international jazz musicians, which has become an international reference for music lovers.

The Libertalia Festivalhe promotes current Malagasy music in all its forms and performs in several scenes in the city. 

The Short Film Encounter gives an important place to the Madagascan cinema and deals with noble causes: the human rights, the place of the young people in the current society, the sensitization and consciences on the Malagasy realities. 

Less known, but not less, the Kolotsaina anaty Elakelatrano Festival, which translates as "Small Alley Festival" brings new life to the slums of the city through drawing, painting, dance, slam, graphic design, recycling, etc. . Local artists perform in cabaret or boxed each weekend. 

craft

walk antananarivo
http://www.epinedefrance.net/4.8-jacolini.167.html

Madagascar is known for the meticulousness of its crafts. Wood, raffia, ropes, zebu horns, irons and ores, or even recycled cans, you'll find everything in Tana: basket, small cars, jewelry, ornament, sculpture, basketry, weaving, etc. The addresses are numerous. 

For the brave, you can visit the art market of Coum or Andravoahangy. Very animated, you will surely be assaulted by the merchants, but you will find cheap items, provided you are an ace of haggling. 

There is also the craft market of the dike, halfway between the airport and the city center where you can stroll between the shops specially dedicated to tourists, just like prices elsewhere. The items are however varied and the place is less lively than those of Coum and Andravoahangy. 

Then there are specialty shops like the Lisy Art Gallery, which brings together craft cooperatives from all over the island, or the Makis and Baobab companies, big names in Malagasy textiles. 

Finally, a little out of the city, a little known address is lost in the middle of rice fields, yet sells their products around the world and has an impressive local impact: the ironwork of Art of Violet and Dieudonné. A very special place worth seeing

antananarivo crafts
http://marylahulote.blogspot.com/2011/12/3-octobre-suite-de-la-matinee.html

Some articles about Antananarivo

Close Menu
libero. risus sit amet, libero commodo
en_US
fr_FR it_IT pl_PL en_US

You're leaving already ?

I hope you found what you are looking for?

  • If so, great!
  • If no, I'm sorry ...

In both cases, I will be very grateful to you for feedback, this will help me a lot to improve this site

fbpx

Antananarivo

Antananarivo, la ville des milles

Antananarivo, ou Tana comme on dit ici, est la capitale de Madagascar. Pourquoi visiter Tana ? Une question qu’on doit se poser apparemment parce que certains conseilleront d’écourter leur séjour à la capitale afin de mieux profiter des provinces. Ce qui, dans une certaine mesure, n’est pas totalement faux. Pourtant, la capitale malgache fait partie intégrante de l’île et de la fierté des locaux.

Tana, la ville boudée à tort

Dès vos premiers pas dans la ville, vous remarquez d’abord les collines qui l’entourent, les constructions éclectiques allant des maisons de briques aux immeubles en béton, les rizières et les bœufs en harmonie en pleine ville, les vieilles voitures 4L et 2 CV, etc. Ensuite, immanquablement, la capitale vous donnera une première claque sur la réalité socio-économique des Malgaches. 

Si dans d’autres destinations les capitales sont prisées, on appréhende Antananarivo. En France par exemple, on se rue à Paris, la ville « de l’amour ou des lumières » et on se prend en photo devant la tour Eiffel, sinon c’est tout comme si vous n’avez pas été en France. Pareil pour les États-Unis, si vous voyagez sur le côté Est, vous ne raterez pas l’occasion de visiter New York n’est-ce pas ? Oui, ce n’est pas la capitale, mais c’est la première image qui vous vient à l’esprit quand on entend « les States ». Time Square et Dame liberté, symboles de cette ville où tout est possible !

Mais Tana, elle, reste boudée. D’abord parce qu’on dit que c’est pollué et qu’il y a l’insécurité. Mais franchement, pas plus que Paris et New York si on en croit l’OMS. Et les pickpockets, il y en a partout dans les grandes villes, même sur les Champs Élysée ou sur le Time Square. C’est juste que ces « emprunteurs fugaces » sont « mieux habillés » là-bas et c’est moins flagrant du coup. Et l’apparence aujourd’hui, ça fait tout. Avant que vous ne vous indigniez, on n’a pas la prétention de dire qu’Analakely vaut l’Avenue des Champs Élysée ou que le Palais de la Reine est un monument tout aussi imposant que le Louvre ou l’Empire State Building. On dit juste qu’elle n’en est pas moins importante, car elle symbolise l’identité de Madagascar. Vous répliqueriez que « Mais on va à Madagascar pour la nature, quitter le tumulte des villes ! ». Et vous aurez encore raison. Sauf que la capitale malgache, vous devrez sûrement y passer. Et nous aimerions juste vous prouver qu’elle mériterait vraiment plus d’attention, pour peu qu’on veuille sortir du luxe de sa chambre d’hôtel.

Tana, littéralement incontournable !

lac anosy antananarivo
http://www.tongasoa-madagascar.com/antananarivo-curiosotes/

Incontournable n’est pas seulement un jeu de mots banal pour vous vendre Tana. Au-delà de son attrait touristique, le « Renivohitra » (capitale), signifiant la colline mère mérite bien son nom. Oui, car tout passe par Tana ! C’est le centre des affaires administratives, économiques et sociales de l’île. Durant votre séjour, vous l’éviterez difficilement, logistiquement parlant. Au vu de l’insuffisance d’infrastructures adéquates, le réseau aérien et terrestre malgache transite généralement par la capitale. En effet, si depuis peu le ciel malgache s’est ouvert grâce à la ligne directe reliant Addis-Abeba à Nosy-Be, Tana reste le point d’escale, d’arrivée et de départ de la grande majorité des vols intérieurs et internationaux. Par ailleurs, tous les réseaux routiers reliant les 4 coins de l’île traversent obligatoirement la ville : à l’Est par la RN2, à l’Ouest et au Nord par la RN4 et au Sud par la RN7. Même si vous passez par des professionnels du voyage, une nuit à la capitale à l’arrivée et/ou au départ de l’île sera nécessaire à cause des longues distances et des conditions de circulation souvent difficiles afin de sécuriser le timing du programme.

Puis, Tana c’est grand quand même. Avec un air urbain de plus de 2,5 millions d’habitants, elle se trouve dans la région d’Analamanga et constitue la plus grande ville de l’île. En fonction de votre programme, vous vous retrouverez forcément dans une des 3 locations suivantes :

Antananarivo, la ville des milles découverte

ville antananarivo
https://onechai.fr/photos/madagascar-1/

Vous avez déjà certainement lu quelque part qu’Antananarivo se traduit par « la ville des milles », fortement reliée à son histoire. De plus, à l’inverse de la plupart des capitales africaines, Tana était déjà une ville majeure avant même la colonisation. Aussi, les vestiges de cette époque royale et coloniale font d’elle la ville la plus riche en histoire de Madagascar. À titre d’exemple non exhaustif, vous pouvez visiter le Palais de la Reine ou Rova du Manjakamiadana, jonchée sur la plus haute colline de la ville, visible à des kilomètres et symbole absolu de la royauté malgache. Les lettres blanches épelant Antananarivo qui s’accrochent juste en dessous du palais vous évoqueront une pâle copie d’Hollywood, mais elles sont plus un rappel de l’importance de cette colline pour la capitale. Tout autour, la haute ville et le quartier d’Antaninarenina retracent l’histoire malgache coloniale avec ses tombeaux, églises et bâtiments officiels. Il vous est possible de visiter la ville soit en voiture, soit à pied avec des guides spécialisés de l’Office Régionale du Tourisme d’Analamanga (ORTANA). Vous pouvez aussi quitter l’animation du centre-ville et virer sur la RN3 pour une excursion sur la colline d’Ambohimanga, vestige de l’histoire malgache et classée patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO

Activités & découverte à Antananarivo

Quelques activités

Le centre-ville

https://insta-stalker.com/post/BugIXOFFyjB/

C’est l’endroit le plus fréquenté d’Antananarivo. Tout ou presque toutes les infrastructures de la capitale y sont centrées : banque, hôpitaux, administration… Il est représenté entre autres par l’avenue de l’indépendance d’Analakely, le cœur même de la capitale. À côté, vous avez Behoririka, le quartier commercial considéré comme le Chinatown malgache vu le nombre d’immigrants chinois qui s’y sont établis. Les vieux quartiers de Faravohitra et Andohalo surplombent la ville, connus pour leur intérêt historique et culturel. Il y a aussi le quartier d’Anosy et son lac artificiel bordé de Jacaranda où a été érigé un monument en mémoire des combattants de la Première Guerre Mondiale. Les quartiers d’Ambohijatovo, Ambondrona, Antaninarenina et Isoraka sont fameux pour ses innombrables restaurants et pubs. Le centre-ville est idéal, car tout y est accessible. Y séjourner vous facilitera les déplacements pour les prochaines étapes de votre séjour : excursion en périphérie ou sortir vers les provinces.

Ivato, le quartier de l’aéroport

ivato
https://www.madaplus.info/Les-passagers-qui-decollent-a-Ivato-et-Nosy-be-seront-taxes-a-raison-de-38-euros_a11434.html

C’est le passage obligé pour tous les étrangers ou locaux qui viennent à Antananarivo par la voie aérienne. Les vols domestiques ne peuvent relier une région à une autre sans un arrêt à la capitale. Un transit de deux heures entre deux vols est toujours possible en fonction des programmations de la compagnie aérienne nationale. Toutefois, cette dernière est souvent sujette à des changements d’horaires de dernière minute. Ainsi, vous seriez avisé de préférer une nuit à Ivato entre votre atterrissage à la capitale et votre prochaine correspondance afin d’éviter tout contretemps fâcheux. Vu comme un quartier résidentiel, Ivato est presque une ville dans la ville et affiche un standing haut de gamme. C’est l’endroit idéal pour ceux qui aiment le calme et la tranquillité. En fonction de vos horaires et de votre direction, le trajet d’Ivato au centre-ville peut facilement vous prendre 1 à 2 heures à cause du trafic, même si elle n’est qu’à 15 km du centre. Par ailleurs, située à l’orée de la RN4, Ivato est ses alentours sont le relais idéal si vous allez direction Ouest et Nord par la route.

Les périphéries

Bien qu’il ne fasse pas partie de la périphérie de Tana ou du centre-ville proprement dit, le quartier résidentiel d’Ankorondrano est aujourd’hui considéré comme le nouveau quartier des affaires. Avec la récente ouverture de la route le reliant à l’aéroport, Ankorondrano et devenu l’alternative idéale pour garder le meilleur des deux mondes : l’accessibilité du centre-ville, le calme des périphéries et la praticabilité pour sortir de Tana. Un peu plus en dehors de la ville, vous avez entre autres le quartier d’Ambatofotsy si votre itinéraire continue sur la RN7 ou le quartier d’Ambohimanga sur la RN3 pour son attrait historique et sa sortie vers Anjozorobe. Enfin, tous les abords de la RN1 peuvent être pratiques si vous partez en direction d’Ampefy.
En gros, Tana, vous l’aurez dans la peau, que vous le vouliez ou non. Puisque vous devez y passer, autant en profiter au max, car cette ville est sans doute le plus grand rond-point de découverte de l’île avec des intérêts historiques, locaux, culturels, nature, gastronomiques, sportifs, etc.

Visite

lac anosy antananarivo
http://www.tongasoa-madagascar.com/antananarivo-curiosotes/

Une promenade le long du lac Anosy est un moment de détente agréable, surtout lorsque les jacarandas sont en fleurs. Le site abrite d’ailleurs un monument, érigé au centre du lac, dédié aux combattants de la Première Guerre Mondiale. La visite du parc zoologique et botanique de Tsimbazaza demeure aussi une étape incontournable. Moment de découverte et de détente garanti! Une immense variété de la flore malgache y est représentée: fougères arborescentes, aloès, bambous, pachypodiums, orchidées, … La faune malgache y constitue également une attraction fascinante. En effet, le zoo héberge des lémuriens, reptiles, oiseaux dont l’Ankoay, fossas, phacochères, etc. Une dernière section est consacrée à l’archéologie, à la paléontologie et à l’ethnologie. Bien qu’un peu délabré, il reste une alternative tolérable pour ceux qui sont de passage et qui n’ont pas beaucoup de temps ou de moyen pour la découverte du reste de l’île. 

L’urbanisation et la modernisation de la capitale se sont beaucoup développées ces dernières années mais quelques quartiers ont toujours conservé leur charme d’antan avec leurs constructions traditionnelles et leurs rues ombragées. Explorer les vestiges historiques éparpillés un peu partout dans la ville est une étape à ne pas manquer. Les sportifs se réjouiront d’ailleurs d’une randonnée à travers les ruelles et les milliers d’escaliers pour atteindre ces sites.

palais de la reine antananarivo
https://destinia.fr/v/ll42846-50132-vols-de-yaound%C3%A9-%C3%A0-antananarivo

La montée vers le palais de la Reine ou le Rova est une excursion particulièrement plaisante. Le parcours inclut la découverte de la cathédrale d’Andohalo, de la maison de Jean Laborde et du palais d’Andafiavaratra. Le Rova surplombe la ville et représente même un symbole. La vue imprenable sur Antananarivo et ses environs est spectaculaire. Le site abrite plusieurs constructions aux noms évocateurs datant de l’époque de la royauté: Manjakamiadana ou « là où il est agréable de régner », Mahitsielafanjaka ou « celui qui est intègre et règne longtemps », Tranovola ou « maison d’argent » et Manampisoa ou « surcroît de beauté ». A proximité, les mausolées et tombeaux royaux apportent une touche très authentique au site.

Nature

lemurien tana

Le Lemur’s parc, situé sur la RN1 est seulement à une heure de route du centre-ville. Un site privé qui a été créé pour la protection et la vulgarisation des lémuriens de Madagascar. Elle permet aussi de découvrir les plantes endémiques de l’île, véritable petite oasis pour ceux qui cherchent de l’air frais. 

crocodile madagascar

Une possibilité est aussi de visiter Croc Farm, une ferme d’élevage de crocodiles et de reptile situé à 3 km de l’aéroport. Niché à Alarobia, le Parc Tsarasaotra est le seul site RAMSAR privé au monde. Il réunit autour de son lac certains oiseaux menacés de l’île : hérons, canards, crabier… une halte intéressante pour les amateurs d’oiseaux ou ornithologues.

Sport

activité antananarivo
https://paddleblogs.com/madamax/

Les activités sportives ne manquent pas à Tana que vous pourriez combiner avec les découvertes de la ville. Entre autres la visite pédestre du centre-ville à travers les dédales de ruelles et d’escaliers de Tana, les trekkings et randonnées organisés par des opérateurs spécialisés dans les forêts et villages des alentours de la ville. 

Ces opérateurs peuvent aussi vous organiser des tours en vélo, du kayaking ou une balade en canoë sur les rivières des hauts plateaux. Des balades équestres, des sorties en quad ou moto, de l’accrobranche sont autant de possibilités. 

En ville, les salles de danse, les centres de remise en forme et autres SPA ne manquent pas non plus. Les amateurs de golf peuvent profiter de Malaza Golf Club à Ampitatafika, le grand domaine Golf du Rova vers la sortie de la ville sur la RN4 ou le Galaxy Golf en plein centre.

restaurant tana
https://generationvoyage.fr/madagascar-gastronomie-menus-fetes/

L’influence cosmopolite de la population malgache est incontestablement traduite dans vos assiettes lors de votre séjour. La capitale regorge toutes sortes de restaurants : des gargotes de la rue aux plus luxueuses, du traditionnel à base de zébu et de riz aux cuisines du monde : française, italienne, chinoise, orientale, antillaise, etc.

Véritable pays des fruits et des produits de rente, les boissons locales en sont fortement influencées : jus naturel, thé et tisanes, rhums locaux aux saveurs de café, vanille, letchis, etc. 

Le salon du chocolat qui se tient annuellement sur la capitale est une occasion pour découvrir les saveurs du cacao malgache de renom international. Des magasins comme Pili Pili Dock vous enivreront des épices de qualité de Madagascar : toutes les déclinaisons de poivre, sauvage et endémique, noir, rose et blanc aux différents aromes d’agrumes, de bois, de baies roses, etc. Il commercialise aussi différentes huiles essentielles et miel à base de baobab, d’eucalyptus, etc. idéaux pour votre bien-être ou pour offrir en cadeau souvenir.

Les hôtels Antananarivo

Quelques hôtels

LOT VB II 87 Tanjombato - Madagascar

ID 38 - 9 rue Ratsimamanga Ambohitsorohitra - Madagascar

13, Rue Andriandahifotsy, Faravohitra - Madagascar

A partir de 115 €

Histoires & culture

Édifiée sur l’une des douze collines historiques de l’Imerina, à environ 1245 m d’altitude, Antananarivo domine la plaine du Betsimitatatra, un paysage de rizières irriguées par le Laniera et l’Ikopa. La ville ne cesse de s’embellir au fil des ans et présente de plus en plus de lieux de détente avec des paysages incitant au calme et à la sérénité, même dans un environnement urbain très actif.

A la fin du XVIIIe siècle, le roi Andrianampoinimerina organisa l’administration territoriale du royaume. Antananarivo, la capitale de l’île, y tenait un rôle majeur car elle fut le lieu de succession au pouvoir des différents rois malgaches. Elle fut également le lieu de résidence des étrangers durant la période coloniale, et est actuellement la capitale politique et économique de Madagascar.

A part Antananarivo, six autres collines parmi les douze sacrées ont aussi accueilli les ancêtres royaux. Un détour du côté de ces sites ne sera pas de trop et enrichira davantage un séjour dans la région. Comme toute construction royale dans la capitale, le nom de chaque site est éloquent: Ilafy ou « parents par alliance », Ambatofotsy ou « la pierre blanche », Ambatomanga ou « le rocher bleu », Ambohidratrimo ou « la colline de Ratrimo »Antsahadinta ou « la vallée de sangsues » et Ambohimanga ou « la colline bleue ». Ce dernier tient d’ailleurs une place prépondérante dans l’histoire de Madagascar car le grand roi Andrianampoinimerina y a vécu. C’est l’un des sites les mieux conservés de l’île.

Evénements

Tana, c’est aussi un centre culturel. Le musée de la photo vous permettra de découvrir le patrimoine photographique malgache d’antan et le regard actuel que portent les photographes nationaux et étrangers envers la grande île. En outre, différents festivals organisés à différents moments de l’année ne manqueront pas de vous faire découvrir la capitale sous un autre jour. 

Madajazzcar met à l’honneur les jazzmen nationaux et internationaux, devenue aujourd’hui une référence internationale chez les mélomanes.

Le Festival Libertalia, lui, promeut la musique malgache actuelle sous toutes ses formes et se produit dans plusieurs scènes de la ville. 

La Rencontre du Film court donne une place importante au cinéma malgache et traite de causes nobles : les droits de l’homme, la place des jeunes dans la société actuelle, la sensibilisation et conscientisations sur les réalités malgaches. 

Moins connu, mais non moindre, le Festival Kolotsaina anaty Elakelatrano qui se traduit par « festival des petites ruelles » redonne vie aux bas quartiers de la ville grâce au dessin, la peinture, la danse, le slam, le graphisme, le recyclage, etc. Des artistes locaux se produisent en cabaret ou en boite chaque fin de semaine. 

Artisanat

marche antananarivo
http://www.epinedefrance.net/4.8-jacolini.167.html

Madagascar est connue pour la minutie de son artisanat. En bois, raphia, cordes, cornes de zébus, fers et minerais ou même boites de conserve recyclées, vous trouvez de tout à Tana : panier, petites voitures, bijoux, ornement, sculpture, vannerie, tissage, etc. Les adresses sont nombreuses. 

Pour les courageux, vous pouvez visiter le marché d’art de Coum ou d’Andravoahangy. Très animés, vous vous y ferez surement assaillir par les marchands, mais vous y trouverez des articles à petit prix, pour peu que vous soyez un as du marchandage. 

Il y a aussi le marché artisanal de la digue, à mi-chemin entre l’aéroport et le centre-ville où vous pourrez flâner entre les boutiques spécialement dédiées aux touristes, tout comme les prix d’ailleurs. Les articles y sont toutefois variés et l’endroit est moins animé que ceux du Coum et d’Andravoahangy. 

Puis, il y a les boutiques spécialisées comme le Lisy Art Gallery qui regroupe des coopératives d’artisans provenant de toute l’île, ou les Makis et Baobab compagnies, des grands noms du textile malgache. 

Enfin, un peu à la sortie de la ville, une adresse peu connue se perd au milieu des rizières, vend pourtant leurs produits partout dans le monde et a un impact local impressionnant : la ferronnerie d’Art de Violette et Dieudonné. Un endroit très spécial qui vaut le détour

artisanat antananarivo
http://marylahulote.blogspot.com/2011/12/3-octobre-suite-de-la-matinee.html

Quelques articles sur Antananarivo

Fermer le menu
ultricies facilisis neque. libero id Donec venenatis, libero.
fr_FR
en_US it_IT pl_PL fr_FR